David Bowie grabó «The Gouster» en 1974 experimentando con Soul y Funk

Un álbum inédito de la leyenda se podrá escuchar dentro del nuevo box set que prepara Parlophone.

Frankie Pizá

Según acaba de anunciar The Guardian, un nuevo box set dedicado a una de las etapas más productivas de David Bowie contendrá material inédito del británico.

«The Gouster» se grabó en 1974 y el proyecto presentaba a Bowie experimentando con Soul y Funk: el disco planteó los comienzos de la dirección que cristalizaría un año después en «Young Americans».

Tras la publicación del primer box set encargado de cubrir los primeros años de actividad creativa del músico, «Five Years (1969 – 1973)», un nuevo release en el mismo formato incluirá este material desconocido hasta ahora

«Who Can I Be Now? (1974 – 1976)» llegará con unas notas exclusivas del productor Tony Visconti, en las que explica el contexto histórico del álbum, grabado en Filadelfia en agosto de 1974:

“Gouster was a word unfamiliar to me but David knew it as a type of dress code worn by African American teens in the ‘60’s, in Chicago. But in the context of the album its meaning was attitude, an attitude of pride and hipness. Of all the songs we cut we were enamored of the ones we chose for the album that portrayed this attitude.

David had a long infatuation with soul as did I. We were fans of the TV show Soul Train. We weren’t ‘young, gifted and black’ but we sure as hell wanted to make a killer soul album, which was quite insane, but pioneers like the Righteous Brothers were there before us.

So ‘The Gouster’ began with the outrageous brand new, funkafied version of David’s classic ‘John, I’m Only Dancing’, a single he wrote and recorded in 1972, only this time our version sounded like it was played live in a loft party in Harlem and he added (Again) to the title. It wasn’t the two and a half minute length of the original either.

We maxed out at virtually seven minutes! With the time limitations of vinyl (big volume drop with more than 18 minutes a side) we could only fit two other long songs on side one, ‘Somebody Up There Likes Me’ and ‘It’s Gonna Be Me’ both about six and a half minute songs. We had hit the twenty-minute mark. Technically that worked because ‘It’s Gonna Be Me’ had lots of quiet sections where the record groove could be safely made narrower and that would preserve the apparent loudness of side one.

Side two also hit the twenty-minute mark with ‘Can You Hear Me’ saving the day with its quiet passages. Forty minutes of glorious funk, that’s what it was and that’s how I thought it would be.”

Tal y como describe Visconti, el álbum comienza con una «funkafied version» del clásico «John, I’m Only Dancing»Parlophone se encarga de nuevo de poner en circulación el box set.



Side 1
1. John, I’m Only Dancing (Again)
2. Somebody Up There Likes Me
3. It’s Gonna Be Me

Side 2
1. Who Can I Be Now?
2. Can You Hear Me
3. Young Americans
4. Right

TIUmag solo es posible gracias a tu apoyo económico: suscríbete a nuestro Patreon y accede a contenido exclusivo.